New India T20 Squad ready for India vs West Indies T20 2023

India T20 squad:

Ishan Kishan (wk)
Shubman Gill
Surya Kumar Yadav (vc)
Sanju Samson (wk)
Yashasvi Jaiswal
Tilak Varma
Hardik Pandya (c)
Axar Patel
Yuzvendra Chahal
Kuldeep Yadav
Ravi Bishnoi
Arshdeep Singh
Umran Malik
Avesh Khan
Mukesh Kumar

The left-handed batsman Tilak, who has been a prominent player for the Mumbai Indians in the last two seasons, has caught the attention of the national selection panel led by Ajit Agarkar. With an impressive strike-rate of over 142 in 47 matches while batting at No. 5, his inclusion is well-deserved. On the other hand, Rinku Singh from KKR has missed out due to a lack of available slots in the middle-order, considering the presence of Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Sanju Samson.

Although Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been absent from the last three T20 series, including the current one against Sri Lanka and New Zealand, it is not an isolated pattern. While they may not be officially dropped, there seems to be a transition phase happening unless there is a remarkable turnaround. This situation is often described as “phasing out” rather than a sudden exclusion.

This was Ajit Agarkar’s first meeting as the chairman of the national selection committee, and the chosen squad did not contain any surprising names. However, it is anticipated that Rinku Singh, known for his finishing skills in the IPL, and Jitesh Sharma from Vidarbha may be included in the team for the Ireland T20Is, considering the tight schedule between the West Indies series and the Ireland matches. Jitesh lost out due to the higher preference given to Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson, who are ahead in the pecking order.

The squad sees the return of fast bowler Avesh Khan and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi. Bishnoi, who last played for India in the Asia Cup in September, will be playing first-class cricket for Gujarat in the upcoming season. The team also features wrist spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Axar Patel, who has been in good T20 form, has been chosen over Ravindra Jadeja, who has been rested.

In the pace department, Avesh Khan has been performing well with the red ball in the Duleep Trophy for Central Zone. With the absence of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj, the pace bowling responsibilities will be shared by Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, and left-arm seamers such as Arshdeep Singh.